Book Baby Update….we’re in labour!

bonded-souls-teaser-2

The imminent arrival of a new “book baby” is dominating my non-work world just now.

To continue the pregnancy analogy that I’ve been using all along, we’re definitely in labour!

Last night was spent making the final corrections (well, I hope they’re the final corrections!) to the CreateSpace formatted document. Once I’d saved it out and saved at least two backup copies, I began to upload it to the project file. I waited…and waited…and waited.

It crashed and generated an error message about slow internet speeds.

OK, it’s a hefty file. (Big Book Baby but not quite as big as the first one) After a bit of feutering on the laptop, I had a smaller pdf version of the formatted file.

Second attempt at uploading.

I waited…and waited…and waited.

Success! File uploaded.

Next challenge was the cover file. Again, I browsed the laptop, selected the file and began to upload it to the project file.

Error message! The file size had exceeded the maximum allowed. GRRRR…cue an unscheduled venture into the dark realms of Photoshop to flatten the image and save out a smaller pdf file.

Second attempt at uploading.

I waited…and waited…and waited.

Success! File uploaded.

Book Baby 3 aka Bonded Souls had moved into the “file review” phase. (This phase of book baby labour lasts roughly 24 hours)

By this time, it was after 11pm. I’d been on the go for 18 hours and I was knackered! Bed was calling.

time-spiral-680x340-1436399501

Patiently (ok, impatiently), I waited all day on the email that would give me the green light to order my paperback proof copy.

The email arrived a couple of hours ago.

Reject! The cover file needed adjustments to the text layout as it was too close to the margin.

AGHHHHHHHH!!!!!!

Took several deep breaths then ventured back into the dark realms of Photoshop to amend the text on the cover file. (CreateSpace- it would’ve been helpful to indicate which text was breaching the margins…hint..hint!)

Eventually, in between bites of chicken sandwich for dinner, a fresh flattened pdf image had been saved out with minimal cursing and swearing.

Third attempt at uploading.

I waited…and waited…and waited.

Success! File uploaded.

Book Baby 3 aka Bonded Souls has moved back into the “file review” phase of this labour of love.

I now need to wait impatiently (I’m not even trying to pretend I’m being patient here) wait on the file being approved.

It’s going to be along 24 hours!

bs-file-review

If this were a “real” labour, I’d be reaching for the gas and air about now.

As this is a “book baby” labour, I’ll be reaching for a glass of Pinot Grigio shortly!

I’m being a little flippant here, I know, but I really wanted to draw attention to the fact that a hell of a lot of work goes on behind the scenes to get a self-published book out there. I also wanted to highlight a couple of things.

Firstly, to the indie authors, and in fact all authors, out there, I’m sure you recognise this pain and frustration only too well but will agree that when you finally get to hold your “book baby” in your hands for the first time, there’s no feeling like it.

Secondly, to the readers out there, books written by indie authors and released through the likes of Kindle and CreateSpace don’t happen by magic. The author does it all. Writing the story is the easy, fun part (although it doesn’t always feel like it). The hard work lies in making it look pretty. The simplest way for you to recognise this effort is to review the book honestly on Amazon and/or Good Reads. Mention it on your social media pages. If you liked it, tell your friends. Yes, the author markets and promotes their own book too so every little kind word helps.

I see myself as incredibly fortunate in that I have a fantastic group of people supporting me every step of the way. I honestly couldn’t do this without their loyal support, love and encouragement. It’s their kind words that keep me going (And, thank you to one of those wonderful people, who will remain nameless and anonymous, for your beautiful message earlier this week. I REALLY needed that “motivation boost”!)

20170301_200428.jpg

There are still six weeks to go until Book Baby 3 aka Bonded Souls is published (15th April- keep the date free) so this is going to be a long “labour” as the work’s not done yet but I know in my heart that it’s going to be worth the wait.

Despite my frustrations with the wonders of modern technology, there’s a wee bubble of excitement building as I wait to hold a copy of my “book baby” in my hands.

I’m just a tiny bit proud of this one.

Now, where’s the Pinot Grigio!

One response to “Book Baby Update….we’re in labour!

  1. Ah, the birthing pains! You poor thing, that is so stressful, but well done on your persistence and working it all out. I can’t WAIT to read Bonded Souls! XX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

