Support an Indie Author….oh wait…that’s me!

indie-author

Last weekend I signed up for an event then had a huge “EEK! What Have I done?” moment. (Well, words to that effect.)

So, what have I signed up for?…….

Takes a deep breath…drum roll please….

I’ve signed up to host an hour long slot in a Facebook event titled “Indie Author Meet & Greet”. This is a three day online event hosted by The Best Books, a small PR company based in the USA.

Having done the maths to work out the time difference, I’ve put my name down for the Sunday slot between 11am-12pm EST otherwise known as 4-5pm UK time.

Cue panic!

What to prepare? How do these things work? How many posts will I need to last the whole hour? What do I wear? (kidding!)

Before I knew it, my heart was pounding and the “inner voice of reason”, which sounds a bit like my mother, was saying, “Get a grip, girl!”

Over a cup of coffee, I plotted out the hour in ten minute time slots – six sections plus a final thank you bit just before the time is up.

Trying to remain positive and calm, I told myself, “You can do this.”

Now, we’re at Tuesday evening, less than three days later, and I’ve changed my mind at least a dozen times about how to schedule this!

I’ve attended a few promotional events online, commenting and entering “giveaways” in the past. Now, I’m wishing I’d paid more attention to how these events were structured.

The “inner voice of reason” is practically screaming at me to, “Chill. It’ll all work out fine.”

The “voice of self-doubt and paranoia” is whispering, “What if no one takes part? What if no one is interested?” GULP!

For now, the “inner voice of reason” is winning this battle of wills but that could change in the next hour….

I’ve written out a schedule I’m comfortable with….but that too could change in the next hour!

It’s going to be a LONG week!

For those of you out there who are familiar with my book babies, there will be big news on the Book Baby 3 front revealed during the meet and greet.

If you’ve time to spare on Sunday, please drop the event and check out my slot. Moral support most definitely required!

If you’ve time to spare over the course of the whole weekend, please dip in and out of the event and lend your support to my fellow Indie Authors.

Me? An Indie Author?….three years ago who would have thought it….

Wish me luck, folks!

 i-love-indie-authors

  

 

The link to the event is below –

https://www.facebook.com/events/360696460969063/

Leave a Reply

