Another Day, Another Season, Another Web Cam…

sunrise270716JPG

It’s been a busy couple of weeks in the “real” world so apologies for the lack of a proper blog post here last week.

There just aren’t enough hours in the day just now!

Now that the household has resumed “normal” chaos levels, a sense of routine is returning to the world. (Although it has been disrupted once more over the past few days by the arrival of a small feline ball of fluff – more about him another day)

In the creative grand scheme of things, Book Baby 3 has been my primary focus. Since I started typing up my handwritten manuscript (makes it sound very proper ..tee hee… pile of tatty scrawled notebooks is closer to the truth!), time and seasons have been getting confused!

In the “real” world I’ve been enjoying early evening sunshine and warmth. In the Book Baby 3 world., I’m in the depths of an icy winter. While in my “real” world my brain has been thinking all things “back to school” (for the final time) for Girl Child, my creative brain has been thinking Christmas and New Year’s Eve parties. (Ironic as I really don’t like New Year’s Eve)

Is it any wonder that I sometimes feel as though I’m losing the plot entirely here!

Adjusting to the different times and seasons of writing is something I struggle with to an extent. I can’t think Christmas in July and I can’t think hot summer beach days in January.

That’s where the internet comes into its own. Google is a Godsend!

Need to picture the beach in January when in reality it’s the height of summer? As Google and voila-  a host of grey stormy beach scenes, flooded boardwalk and dark clouds.

Need to visualise Rockefeller Plaza on Christmas Eve? Google is only too happy to oblige.

I’ve said before, Street View has been a life save on many occasions.

The internet also keeps the “real” memories of the places I write about in the Silver Lake series very much alive thanks to some live time views. I love web cams!

Over time I’ve found several web cams that keep it all alive for me. I have a good memory and a mind full of precious memories but it’s been over four years since I’ve been to some of my key locations.

Yes, I can close my eyes and daydream myself there in a split second but some of the sharpness is starting to go on these daydreams. A few have become tarnished over the years.

There’s one web cam, well two really, that keep my beach memories fresh.

It also keeps me sane.

If I’ve had a tough day or am feeling a little low, then a real time virtual view of my favourite beach is only a mouse click away. (I’ll confess, the tab is always open on my laptop)

Anyone that follows my Twitter/Facebook will be familiar with the views I’m talking about. I may have screenshotted one or two of them!

I can watch the sun rise; I can watch the sun bake down on the powdery sand; I can watch the waves pound in on the shore; I can watch the sun set (if I stay up late enough!)

If it’s a miserable dreich day in Scotland, I can click and, as if by magic, I can enjoy a few minutes of virtual beach sunshine.

Sometimes its also nice to be reminded it can rain there as well. In fact, in real life, when I first returned to visit Rehoboth, after a gap of twenty four years, it was pouring with rain! We were all soaked to the skin within minutes. The five of us trooped into Hooters for lunch, dripping all over the floor! Happy, if soggy, memories.

Want to see this view for yourself? Just a glimpse? Here – take a look

http://www.rehobothbeachfever.com/rehoboth-beach-webcam.html#.V73tIY-cHuj

 

http://www.atlanticsandshotel.com/default.aspx?pg=webcam

 

While you enjoy a few blissful moments at my favourite beach, I’d better get back to my typing marathon. Book Baby 3 ain’t gonna type itself!

 

 

One response to “Another Day, Another Season, Another Web Cam…

  1. When Russell T. Davies started writing the Doctor Who Xmas specials, it was always in high summer. He would shut himself indoors, put on Xmas music, drink mulled wine, and do all kinds of stuff to convince himself it was winter! 😂 Great post! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

