Let Your Eyes Wander…..

To quote Chris Cornell’s lyrics “Let your eyes wander wild and free”.

How often do you really look around you? How often do you pause for a second in your hectic day to appreciate your surroundings?  When did you last stop to listen to the birds sing?

As Spring moves seamlessly into Summer, the world around us has become a riot of colours. This was something that I only noticed  the full extent of the other day.

We all lead busy lives and are always dashing from here to there. It’s so easy to jump in the car rather than walking to your destination.  If you’re cocooned in the car, you miss so much of the beauty of the world about you.

What struck me when I was out early one morning last week was just how many different wild flowers were growing along the edge of the road. No, I’m not talking about flowers and shrubs in people’s gardens but plants that are growing wild and free.

Yesterday I retraced my steps, camera in hand, to capture some of these. Yes, I got some odd looks from passers-by as I was sat on the pavement photographing what to a lot of people are considered weeds. When I got home and downloaded the images onto my laptop, I was amazed by how many I’d taken. (Don’t panic they’re not all coming up !)

There’s a whole beautiful world out there if we only slow down long enough to look. So “Let your eyes wander wild and free” as Mr Cornell suggests and have a look at your world. You might be surprised by what you see!

collage 1collage 2collage 3collage 4collage 5collage 6collage 7collage 8

 

Leave a Reply

