Happy 2nd Birthday To Me…

2nd birthday blog collage

Happy 2nd Birthday to me….well to my blog page to be more precise.

Where did those two years go?

I’ve just re-visited that first, nervous blog post and been reflecting on the past two years and the blogging/creative/life journey I’ve been on.

Some of you have been there every step of the way and for that I can’t thank you enough.

Some of you have joined along the road and I am humbled that you have taken the time to offer your support. Thank you.

When I started this blog, my primary aim was to overcome one of my biggest fears as a writer – the fear of people reading what I write. I said back then that I felt as though I was standing naked in front of a crowded room.

What have I accomplished over the past two years?

Well, I’m still the mother of two teenagers (Boy Child and Girl Child), still the adopted human slave to my cats, still married to the Big Green Gummi Bear and still working full-time in the “salt mine”.

I’ve kept my promise to post one blog post per week. Admittedly some weeks have been tougher than others.

This year I’ve also started a second blog, The 525 To Glasgow, where I share my musical musings.

On this page, I’ve been working on two serialised stories- The Imp and Still As A Statue. Both of these have been “parked” for now but I promise I will continue them both when the time is right.

My biggest creative achievement though has to be Book Baby. In the initial blog on here I said I was working on what I hoped would become my first novel, adding “but whether it will ever see the light of day beyond my conservatory remains to be seen.”

The dream became a reality on 15 April 2015 when Stronger Within aka Book Baby was published via Kindle.

On 11 June, the second part of the dream came true when I held it in my hands as a “real” paperback book for the very first time.

I still don’t fully believe that it’s sunk in that I am a bona fide published author. It still feels like a wonderful dream that I don’t want to wake up from.

The reviews that Book Baby has received have been incredible. I still can’t comprehend that people have read my book while on holiday, on flights or as bed time reading. It’s all quite surreal!

So, have I succeeded in overcoming my fears over the past two years?

Partly, if I’m totally honest. Every time I hit “publish” on a blog post my stomach still lurches. I no longer feel as if I’m standing naked in a room full of strangers. Instead, it feels more like standing there in a very tight overly-short dress while wearing high heels. Perhaps one day, maybe another two years down the line, I’ll feel as though I’m standing in front of you all, relaxed, in t-shirt, jeans and mu beloved Converse. Time will tell!

 

4 responses to “Happy 2nd Birthday To Me…

  1. Great post! Happy 2nd Blogiversary. Congrats again on the birth of Book Baby. And here’s to many more blog posts. 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Bloggiversary and much congratulations on the publication of Stronger Within!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

