An Unfortunate Case Of The Lemony Snicket’s

 

Ever develop a habit and not even realise you’ve done it?

It would appear I’ve done just that!

It only struck me the other day while I was at work in the salt mine and I have to confess it made me smile to myself. (Not a bad thing, as a few seconds previously, I’d been hopping mad but couldn’t react as I was at work and “pretending” to be a fully functioning adult!)

For a few days now I’ve consciously tried to break this new habit.

I’ve failed miserably.

So what is this habit that I’ve developed? Don’t panic, it’s nothing dodgy!

I’m slowly turning into Violet Baudelaire, the fifteen-year old heroine from Lemony Snicket’s A Series Of Unfortunate Events. Violet kept a long ribbon (purple in the books but black satin in the movie) around her neck. Whenever she needed to think or concentrate on something  important or a new invention, she would tie her long hair back in the ribbon.

I seem to have developed the habit of keeping a hair elastic around left wrist, invariably a black or a purple one.

Anyone who knows me, knows only too well that I have a fear of the hairdressers and have had long hair for over thirty years. (The last “short” cut was a Purdey (Joanna Lumley in The Avengers) circa August 1979 – mentally scarred for life after that one! Thanks, mum!)

I also don’t like wearing it “up”.

To be totally honest, I don’t do much with it at all. I wash it, condition it, towel it dry, brush out the knots and leave it to it. I admit for the past six months I’ve had to do something with the front section as I grow out my fringe (bangs). It’s taking forever!

Back to the Violet Baudelaire reference though – I’ve caught myself now on numerous occasions reaching for the hair elastic as I approach a task. Sometimes it is for practical reasons, for example, if I am about to cook dinner or go for a walk outside on a windy day, but increasingly it’s become routine if I need to focus on the task in hand.

(So far I’ve resisted the temptation to reach for the black band currently twitching on my wrist as I write this.)

Violet was an inventor in the Lemony Snicket’s tales and, while I’ve never invented anything, I do find myself catching my hair back as I sit down of an evening to work on Book Baby. I guess that’s a kind of inventing.

I have to confess, I don’t tie it back as neatly as Violet does in the movie. I tend to grab my fine hair in between my hands, wrap the band round it twice then on the third time, hook my hair through into a very messy folded up ponytail. Perhaps not the most professional “look” while at work.

It is rapidly approaching that time of year when we start to think of the changes we want to make or resolutions to do certain things. Perhaps my New Year’s resolution should be to stop wearing the hair bands on my wrist.

Hmm…let me think about that.  (Reaches for the black elastic and ties hair back!)

Violet collage

One response to “An Unfortunate Case Of The Lemony Snicket’s

  1. I also wear a hair tie round my wrist if I might need it – but I don’t think I have your habit of tying my hair back when I begin a task. I’m now wondering if I have any similar habits…hmm… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

