When did you last look up?

How often do we charge through our days without really looking at the world around us?

When did you last go for a walk and look up?

It’s amazing what you notice!

On my daily drive to work I pass a statue of James Watt, the famous Scottish engineer who was born in Greenock (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Watt)

It would appear he enjoyed gardening from the flora and fauna adorning the beautiful building beside him!

Seeing these pretty wild flowers- ok weeds to some folk- made me take a closer look at some of the other buildings along the route.

Here’s the result – the informal roof gardens of Greenock!

6 7 8 9 10 1 2 3 4 5

So next time you’re out and about, look up!

2 responses to “When did you last look up?

  1. Nice post, thanks for the reminder. I try to do it as often as I can. Looking around, and up, and noticing what is going on in real life outside of my head (where admittedly I spend most of the time like many folks). What helps me is practicing Ikebana. Makes you concentrate on natural beauty and leave all the thoughts behind.
    Another trick is to feel my hands. Or tows. Suddenly you are happy you have them and you actually have sensations, which you don’t notice without bringing your attention there:)

    Ekaterina
    http://www.IkebanaWeb.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the way nature makes a home anywhere. Great post and photos! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

