How The Hell Did That Happen?

Some of you may find this hard to believe but sometimes I do have to act like a grown up.

It goes against the grain and is bad for your mental health but it has to be done.

Last week I reached VERY grown up milestone.

One that pulled me up short.

One that made me think “How the hell did that happen?”

I celebrated twenty five years of service with my employer.

Quarter of a century! GULP!!

I recall at the time thinking I’d work there until I decided what to do with my life -what to do when I grew up. College hadn’t gone to plan (Never was any good at Physiology) A brief stint as a management trainee for a well-known burger chain had ended in disaster. (Great way to lose weight- 20lbs lighter after six weeks and two days. Perhaps I should go back?….)

I was at a crossroads.

So my employer opened their door at an opportune moment and welcomed me in.

And I’ve stayed.

In this day and age I wholly appreciate how fortunate I am to have secured a job that has allowed me to stay safely employed over the years. An opportunity that’s sadly denied to too many.

So what else was going on in the world in 1990?

-Saddam Hussein ordered the Iraq invasion of Kuwait

-A formal ban on the trade of ivory was introduced world wide

-Nelson Mandela was released from prison

-Margaret Thatcher resigned

-The Leaning Tower of Pisa was closed to the public due to safety concerns that it was falling down.

-The Berlin Wall came down.

On TV we enjoyed The Simpsons and Twin Peaks for the first time.

In the cinema we watched Ghost, Pretty Woman and Edward Scissorhands, among many other now classic films.

We were listening to the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Jon Bon Jovi, Aerosmith and, in the Big Green Gummi Bear’s case, Erasure. (Yes, the Big Green Gummi Bear was around then too)

On the technology front, a 16 MB chip was shown to the world for the first time and the Hubble Space Telescope was placed into orbit.

When you read that list, suddenly it all feels a very long time ago.

So in twenty five years have I made up my mind about what I want to do when I grow up?

No. I’ve long since decided that growing up is bad for you!

I was fortunate enough to be given some vouchers as a thank you and in recognition of surviving all this time in the salt mine.

I’ve kind of done a grown up thing with most of them. I have finally invested in a decent “adult” watch. The Big Green Gummi Bear will be pleased.

 And with the change? New  red Bose earphones!

Can’t go acting like a grown up for too long!

Leave a Reply

