The Inner Emotions of the Festive Season and Mother Nature

And breathe. And relax. Let go of all the stresses and emotions that surround the festive season.

Easier said than done!

Don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas but every year, for various reasons that rattle round and round in my head, another little bit of the magic dies. Maybe it’s to do with the kids growing up and the fact that there’s no more cookies and milk being left out for Santa, with a carrot on the side for Rudolph. More likely it’s to do with more complex relationships. Who knows!

For the last few years, regardless of the weather, I’ve taken time out on Christmas Eve to go for a walk along the beach. For those few brief moments, I can relax and attempt to put my “emotional” house in order before returning home to “do” Christmas.

This year was no different.

Camera in hand I set off for a chilly, bracing walk that was cut short by a torrential shower of icy rain. Suitably refreshed – well, blown away and soaked- I returned home.

tagged 8

On Christmas Day, the Big Green Gummi Bear and I found ourselves with an hour or so to spare before the rest of the family arrived. In a vain attempt to prevent us from eating too many nibbles, we went for a walk back towards the beach. Again, as ever, my camera was to hand.

What a difference a day makes! It was gloriously peaceful as the sun went down.

tagged 25

It struck me, as I uploaded the photos from both walks onto the laptop that Mother Nature had mirrored my own emotional state.

Christmas Eve in complete emotional turmoil; Christmas Day calm and considerably more relaxed.

On 27 December, Saturday, I wandered off in the direction of the beach for the third time in four days.

I stood on the sand and watched the sun set on another festive season with a sigh of relief and a smile on my lips.

tagged 2712 1

Leave a Reply

