How Do You Choose Only Five!

Screenshot_2014-08-10-10-59-24_1

 

 

 

P1020071

 

The first quote, spotted on FB recently, reminded me of a photograph I took of the second. It is above a doorway in the New York Public Library- a wonderful place to visit!

Both quotes got me thinking- which five books would I choose if pushed to do so?

As I’ve said before in relation to music, your choices will vary depending on mood and personal circumstance at the time. There’s no right or wrong answer.

Perhaps it’s also time for a confession – I am no lover of the “classics”. Yes, I’ll go and wash my mouth out with soap for admitting that! However, in my defence, I’ve read very few of them and enjoyed those even less. I’m not saying anything against these books- they just don’t appeal to me.

Don’t ever “tell” me to read a book because I won’t do it. This harks back to being told to read novels and classics for school English exams. Recommend a book to me and chances are that I’ll get to it in my own good time

I also tend to select books using a  methodology that I use for choosing music and wine – if I like the cover or the title then I’ll probably check it out further.

So, to try to narrow my eclectic tastes in literature down to five volumes…..

1 The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien – the best written book I’ve ever read.

2 Shantaram – Gregory David Roberts –an incredible tale that draws the reader into the heart of the characters.

3 A Prayer for Owen Meany – John Irving – yes, I bought this one because I liked the armadillo on the cover and opened it to find a fabulous tale inside. One of many John Irving books I own and treasure.

4 Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil – John Berendt –for its fabulous cast of characters and the fact it reminds me of  my honeymoon in Mauritius a long time ago. Perhaps something Freudian there….

5 The Pilot’s Wife – Anita Shreve – it has the “house” in it. I love the recurring house that appears in several of her novels. It’s also a fabulous story and makes you think about how well you really know your partner.

Right, I knew I couldn’t limit this to five so I’m going to beg your forgiveness and add on another

6 The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho – initially loaned to me by an old friend with whom I’ve long since lost contact sadly, and one I’ve re-read several times. The first of many Paulo Coelho books in my collection. One that set me on the road to follow my own dreams.

 

So what would be in your top five (or six) and why?

 

 

credits to the owner of the Neil Gaiman quote photograph

 

 

 

2 responses to “How Do You Choose Only Five!

  1. I also would struggle to choose only 5! LOTR would be my number 1, as well. Then – aarrgh – scratches head – the Dark Is Rising by Susan Cooper, the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon, Soul Music (and loads of others) by Terry Pratchett, December by Phil Rickman. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

