Time to come clean- I’m an addict

My name is Coral and I’m a photo-holic. There I’ve confessed!

I never leave the house without a camera of some sort, invariably my phone. If I go for a walk I usually take at least two cameras. I can’t go for a walk – or anywhere for that matter- without constantly looking for that special photographic opportunity. It drives my family insane!

I love photographs both taking them and browsing leisurely through them. My personal 2013 creative challenge was to produce a Facebook photo album – 365 Days of 2013- featuring a different photo taken each day of the year using the camera on my phone for convenience. I was proud to complete it- first New Year’s resolution I’ve ever stuck to. As the  year wore on I feel that the standard improved and I learned to look at the world around me  in a different light. Now less than two weeks into January 2014 I’m missing taking my “photo of the day”.

It was only recently I discovered the true extent of my photo habit. I was fortunate enough to be given a new laptop for Christmas ( thank you Big Green Gummi Bear) and spent quite some considerable time transferring across nine years worth of digital images from my dying netbook.

Before the digital photography age I still shot more than my fair share of photographs. I must have spent a small fortune over the years on developing costs and photo albums. Do you remember the Doubleprint envelopes that fell out of Sunday supplements and were found on stands in airports? Truprint? Bonusprint? Yes- I’ve made good use of them all in my time. I loved the Doubleprint ones – a 6×4 image plus a wallet sized copy.

I have a tendency to be OCD about my photo albums too and have religiously chronicled my trips to the USA over the last ten years. When the munchkins were little I shot at least one roll of film a month- frequently more- and have memories their formative years stored in album after album. I’ve even wallet sized albums for the wallet sized copies from Doubleprint.

It was discovering one of these tiny albums of precious memories that inspired the poem below. (It was was also my first poem to make it into print)

Passing Childhood

Photos found at the back of the drawer.

What was I actually looking for?

A smiling toddler with white blonde hair

Fond memories swirl round in the air.

All the long years have now flown by

My white blonde boy no longer shy.

A smart young man who excels at school

Now facing a world that is his to rule.

And just how many digital images found their way onto my new pc?-   32356 to be exact and I treasure every last one.

Now where did I put my camera……

One response to “Time to come clean- I’m an addict

  1. You and my hubby would get on fine, although I think you beat him with the number of photos you have! He will climb stuff, lie on his back, and contort into strange positions to get the perfect photo. 😉
    I love the poem. Simple yet conjures up a clear picture. I suppose poems can be photographs made of words…

    Like

Leave a Reply

